FAWC Summer Awards Celebration
Saturday, July 13, 2024
Pilgrim Monument and Provincetown Museum

Celebrate Legacy
50+ Years of Artistic Freedom and Leadership

Join us for the 2024 Summer Awards Celebration, the premier summer arts and community celebration on the Outer Cape. This much-anticipated evening promises to be inspiring, memorable, and fun with experiential moments throughout that highlight our mission. With sweeping views of the harbor, guests can enjoy cocktails complete with a tequila bar and the sounds of DJ Chris Roxx, followed by a seated farm to table dinner inspired by the Cape’s seasonal bounty. A dessert and espresso martini bar complete the evening.


This year, we will celebrate our Legacy and highlight the seminal importance of Provincetown in sustaining the arts in America. Together, we will honor three remarkable individuals:

Terrance Hayesfor his achievements in the literary arts

National Book Award Winner for Poetry 2010
MacArthur Foundation Fellow 2014
Summer Program Faculty

Lynne Kortenhaus, for her 25-year commitment to FAWC, first as a visual artist, then as a Board member, and now as President of the Board of Trustees

Founder and Principal at Kortenhaus Communications
Fine Arts Work Center Board President
Printmaker and Visual Artist, Rhode Island School of Design

Photo: Xavier Scott Marshall

Jacolby Satterwhite, for his radical contributions to contemporary art

Multidisciplinary Visual Artist
Great Hall Commission at The MET, 2023-24 
Fine Arts Work Center Visual Arts Fellow 2011-12, 2012-13
Work in the permanent collections of the Museum of Modern Art, Whitney Museum of American Art, and The Studio Museum, New York; among others

Learn more about our honorees here.

Summer Awards Details

Saturday, July 13, 2024

Pilgrim Monument and Provincetown Museum

Seaside Celebration Attire 

5:30 PM Cocktails

7:00 PM Dinner

Patron Evening

Friday, July 12, 2024, 6:00 – 8:00 PM

Daniel A. Mullin Courtyard

Patron level ticket holders and above are invited to join us for a special Cape Cod-style al fresco dinner at the Fine Arts Work Center.

For more information about this event or the Summer Awards Celebration, contact Alice Bruce at abruce@fawc.org

About our Honorees

Terrance Hayes is the author of seven poetry collections: So to Speak; American Sonnets for My Past And Future Assassin, a finalist for the National Book Award, National Book Critics Circle Award, and TS Eliot Prize; How to Be Drawn; Lighthead, winner of the 2010 National Book Award for poetry; Muscular Music, recipient of the Kate Tufts Discovery Award; Hip Logic, winner of the 2001 National Poetry Series, and Wind in a Box. His prose collection, To Float In The Space Between: Drawings and Essays in Conversation with Etheridge Knight, was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award and winner of the Pegasus Award for Poetry Criticism. Hayes has received fellowships from the MacArthur Foundation, Guggenheim Foundation, and Whiting Foundation, and is a professor of English at New York University.

Lynne Kortenhaus was trained as a printmaker at the Rhode Island School of Design, where she earned a Bachelor and Master of Fine Arts degrees. Kortenhaus brings her artistic eye to everything she touches. Throughout her career, she has helped shape luxury brands in the hospitality, retail, and lifestyle markets including The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company, The Newbury Boston, The ‘Quin House, Louis Boston, Hermes,  Bottega Veneta, Salon Mario Russo, Tiffany & Co., among many others. Kortenhaus was the former chair of the Boston Art Commission where she helped shape one of the oldest public art commissions for the City of Boston into a thriving voice in the business and arts community. A passionate supporter of the cultural community, Kortenhaus has held many roles, including trustee of the Boston Center for the Arts, a trustee emeritus of the Wang Center, a Henderson Fund designator and a Legacy Circle member of the ICA. Since 2020, she has served as President of the Board of Trustees at the Fine Arts Work Center.

Photo: Xavier Scott Marshall

Born in 1986 in Columbia, South Carolina, Jacolby Satterwhite now lives and works in Brooklyn, New York. He received his BFA from the Maryland Institute College of Arts, Baltimore and his MFA from the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia. Satterwhite is celebrated for a conceptual practice addressing themes of labor, consumption, sex, and fantasy through immersive installation, virtual reality, and digital media. Guided by queer theory, modernism and video game language to challenge conventions of Western art through a personal and political lens, he works in the disciplines of illustration, performance, painting, sculpture, photography and writing. Satterwhite’s work has been presented in numerous exhibitions and festivals internationally, including most recently at the FRONT International: Cleveland Triennial for Contemporary Art, Cleveland, OH (2022); Miller Institute for Contemporary Art, PA (2021); Haus der Kunst, Munich (2021); and Gwangju Biennale, Gwangju (2021). His work is included in the collections of the Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma, Helsinki; Museum of Modern Art, New York; Studio Museum in Harlem, New York; and the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, among others.

2024 Event Committee

Summer Exhibition Chair
Gavin Kennedy

Steve Corkin and Dan Maddalena
Ken Fulk and Kurt Wootton
Karen van Bergen and Jos Stumpe
Carol Warshawsky

Vice Chairs
Neal Balkowitsch and Donald Nelson
Ted Chapin
Marty Davis and Alix Ritchie
Rob McBride
Bryan Rafanelli and Mark Walsh
Host Committee
Suzanne and Jeffrey Bloomberg
Graham Brown and James Vesper
Bruce Skiles Danzer, Jr. and Tom Huth
Gabrielle and John DePapp
Ron and Julie Druker
Russ and Betty Gaudreau
Barbara Lemperly Grant and Frederic D. Grant, Jr.
Ron Hartwig and Robert Pierce Jr.
Cheryl and Jeffrey Katz
Peter Kazon and Paul Cunningham
David Keller and Mary Maxwell
Gavin Kennedy and Stephen Baker
Ron Kollen, Jim Coffman, and Mark Wisneski
Michela Larson and Ed Marino
Russell Lopez and Andrew Sherman
Sandi and Sean McKinley
Margaret Murphy and Lauren Ewing
Patrick Nolan and Clément Gaujal
Hunter O’Hanian
Mario Russo
Caroline Taggert and Robert Sachs

24 Pearl Street
Provincetown, MA 02657

© 2023 Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown