The Program



The deadline to apply for the 2020-21 Writing Fellowship is Monday, December 2.

The deadline to apply for the 2020-21 Visual Arts Fellowship is Saturday, February 1.

The Fine Arts Work Center offers a unique residency for writers and visual artists in the crucial early stages of their careers. Located in Provincetown, Massachusetts, an area with a long history as an arts colony, the Work Center provides seven-month Fellowships to twenty Fellows each year in the form of living/work space and a modest monthly stipend. Residencies run from October 1 through April 30. Fellows have the opportunity to pursue their work independently in a diverse and supportive community of peers. A historic fishing port, Provincetown is situated at the tip of Cape Cod in an area of spectacular natural beauty, surrounded by miles of dunes and National Seashore beaches.

Program: Fellows are expected to live and work in Provincetown during the fellowship year. Optional group activities provide Fellows with the opportunity to meet program committee members as well as visiting artists and writers. The Stanley Kunitz Common Room is the site of frequent presentations by distinguished guests, as well as readings by writing Fellows. Visual arts Fellows present shows in the Work Center's Hudson D. Walker Gallery. Visiting artists and writers engage in dialogue with Fellows throughout the year. The Fine Arts Work Center also seeks to identify local and national venues for Fellows and former Fellows to share their work.


Visiting Artists and Writers Series: Every winter, during the seven-month residency program, working artists and writers at the top of their respective fields are invited to come to the Work Center and meet with the Fellows.

Below is just a small selection of the writers and artists who have come here over the years.  

Yehuda Amichai
John Ashbery 
Margaret Atwood 
Amiri Baraka 
Ann Beattie 
Gwendolyn Brooks 
Raymond Carver 
Dan Chaon
John Cheever
Susan Choi
Robert Creeley 
Michael Cunningham
Toi Dericotte 
Annie Dillard 
Andre Dubus 
Alan Dugan
Forest Gander
Eamon Grennan
Jessica Hagedorn 
Seamus Heaney 
David Ignatow 
Major Jackson
Gish Jen 
Ha Jin
Denis Johnson
Ward Just 
Galway Kinnell 
Yusef Komunyakaa
Jhumpa Lahiri
Victor Lavalle
Li-Young Lee 
Norman Mailer 
Colum McCann
Heather McHugh
Mary Oliver 
Michael Ondaatje 
Gregory Orr 
Grace Paley
Marilynne Robinson
Jim Shepard
Patricia Smith 
Mark Strand
Gerald Stern
Elizabeth Strout
C.D. Wright
Robert Stone 

Benny Andrews
Luis Cruz Azaceta 
Jake Berthot 
Daniel Bokzhov
Chris Burden 
Carroll Dunham
Lauren Ewing
Raphael Ferrer 
Janet Fish 
Tom Friedman
Ellen Gallagher
Robert Gober 
Jim Hodges
Nancy Holt 
Yvonne Jacquette
Bill Jensen 
Roberto Juarez 
Alex Katz 
Mel Kendrick
Altred Leslie 
Annete Lemieux
Brice Marden 
Daniel Joseph Martinez
Sam Messer
Elizabeth Murray 
Thomas Nozkowski 
Sarah Oppenheimer
Lamar Peterson
Judy Pfaff 
Richard Prince
Martin Puryear 
Nancy Rubins 
Sal Scarpitta 
Charles Spurrier
Paul Stopforth
Robert Storr
Brian Tolle
Jim Surls 
Jack Whitten 
Helen Miranda Wilson 
Terry Winters 
Tim Woodman
Lynn Yamamoto
Gregory Volk
Lisa Yuskavage